HOME | SITEMAP | Imprint | CONTACT    
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
  

SMOOTHED PARTICLE HYDRODYNAMICS (SPH)

 

SPH method is a modern approach to simulating fluid or gas dynamics, but also deformations of solid bodies. Thus it also makes it possible to virtually analyze complex deformation or separation processes, like the ones occurring when metal components are machined. In such machining processes compact components are separated into several or also very many parts (shavings) – a process almost impossible to handle with classic simulation methods like the Finite Element Method (FEM).


In the area of simulating fluid dynamics, in contrast to classic CFD methods, SPH can be used to also simulate highly dynamic fluid movements with free surfaces and multiple phases. This method is especially suited to processes dominated by sloshing, splashing and the interaction between fluids and moving components. Such highly dynamic flow processes occur often in applications. Conventional simulation procedures of the CFD type quickly reach their limits with this. SPH offers an attractive alternative.


Compared to other methods of continuum simulation the SPH method has a distinct advantage: It offers the possibility of reproducing elastic solid bodies and fluids together in one simulation, because SPH makes it possible to use the same simulation approach for both media. A so monolithic approach is significantly more stable numerically than a heterogeneous fluid-structure coupling of FEM and conventional CFD methods. As a result of the problematic requirement of combining separate programs with different approaches for solid bodies and for fluids, numeric instabilities occur which are difficult to handle.

  +49 (0)7071 - 3659836


  info[at]inpartik.com


  Aixer Straße 14 • 72072 Tübingen


See for yourself!

HOME | SITEMAP | IMPRESSUM | KONTAKT    
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
  

SMOOTHED PARTICLE HYDRODYNAMICS (SPH)

 

Die SPH-Methode ist ein moderner Ansatz der Simulation von Flüssigkeits- oder Gasströmungen aber auch von Festkörperverformungen. So erlaubt sie auch die virtuelle Analyse komplexer Verformungs- oder Trennvorgänge wie sie z.B. bei der spanenden Bearbeitung von Metallbauteilen auftreten. Bei solchen Bearbeitungsprozessen werden kompakte Bauteile in mehrere oder auch ganz viele Teile (Späne) zertrennt – ein Vorgang der mit klassischen Simulationsmethoden wie der Finite Elemente Methode (FEM) kaum beherrschbar ist.


Im Bereich der Strömungssimulation können mit SPH im Gegensatz zu klassischen CFD-Methoden auch hochdynamische Fluidbewegungen mit freien Oberflächen und mehreren Phasen simuliert werden. Die Methode ist besonders geeignet für Vorgänge, bei denen schwappen, spritzen und die Wechselwirkung von Flüssigkeiten mit bewegten Bauteilen eine dominante Rolle spielen. Derartige hochdynamischen Strömungsprozesse sind in der Anwendung häufig anzutreffen. Hier stoßen herkömmliche Simulationsverfahren im Bereich der CFD schnell an ihre Grenzen. SPH bietet eine attraktive Alternative.


Im Gegensatz zu anderen Methoden der Kontinuumssimulation besteht ein deutlicher Vorteil der SPH-Methode  in der Möglichkeit elastischen Festkörpern und Flüssigkeiten in einer Simulation gemeinsam abzubilden, denn SPH erlaubt die Modellierung beider Medien mit dem gleichen Simulationsansatz. Ein solch monolithischer Ansatz ist numerisch deutlich stabiler als eine heterogene Fluid-Struktur-Kopplung von FEM und herkömmlichen CFD Methoden. Durch die problematische Anforderung getrennte Programme mit verschiedenen Ansätzen für Festkörper und Fluid zu verbinden, sind die auftretenden numerischen Instabilitäten dort meist nur schwer beherrschbar.


  +49 (0)7071 - 3659836


  info[at]inpartik.com


  Aixer Straße 14 • 72072 Tübingen


Überzeugen Sie sich selbst!