HOME | SITEMAP | Imprint | CONTACT    
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
  

MULTIBODY SIMULATION (MBS)

 

Unlike the already described methods DEM and SPH, Multibody simulation is not a particle method, even though it has a lot in common with these methods. Multibody simulation is also used to simulate the movements of dynamic objects. In Multibody simulations, however, they are usually connected to each other with joints. Collisions, which are typical between the freely moving objects in DEM simulations, usually play a less significant role. The connection between the simulated bodies by joints and bearings makes this method especially suited for simulating mechanisms of all kinds.


Multibody simulations are widely-used in many areas of engineering, vehicle development and robotics. They can easily be coupled with particle-based simulation methods like DEM or SPH for analyzing the interaction between machines and fluids or particle or component filling processes. Such a way of coupling methods can, e.g., be used to analyze the stresses and movements occurring for liquid loads sloshing in tank trucks. Analyzing the driving dynamics of the loaded vehicle helps to draw conclusions about the optimal geometry of the tank. Thus the safety margins of the tank truck can be optimized even for critical driving manoeuvers.


(Click image to enlarge)

Tanksloshing

Another project to which Inpartik contributed significantly with its software Pasimodo® probably appears as rather exotic to terrestrial engineers: Subject of the analysis was the tendency of an extra-terrestrial rover to get stuck in the soft sand of Mars. In these analyses, for which Pasimodo® is coupled with an external Multibody simulation program, some model parameters are defined fuzzily, since some information, like the properties of Mars soil can typically only be estimated.

 

 

  +49 (0)7071 - 3659836


  info[at]inpartik.com


  Aixer Straße 14 • 72072 Tübingen


See for yourself!

HOME | SITEMAP | IMPRESSUM | KONTAKT    
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
  

MKS

MEHRKÖRPERSIMULATION (MKS)

 

Anders als die bereits beschriebenen Methoden DEM und SPH, ist die Mehrkörpersimulation keine Partikelmethode. Trotzdem hat sie mit den bereits beschriebenen Methoden einiges gemein. Auch bei der MKS wird die Bewegung dynamischer Objekte simuliert. Diese sind jedoch bei der MKS meist gelenkig miteinander verbunden. Stoßvorgänge, wie sie zwischen den frei beweglichen Objekten in DEM-Simulationen typisch sind, spielen hier meist eher eine untergeordnete Rolle. Aufgrund der Bindung der simulierten Körper durch Gelenke und Lager, ist diese Methode besonders geeignet zur Simulation von Mechanismen jeglicher Art.


MKS-Simlationen sind weit verbreitet in vielen Bereichen des Maschinenbaus, der Fahrzeugentwicklung und im Roboterbau.
Sie können sehr gut mit partikelbasierten Simulationsmethoden wie DEM oder SPH gekoppelt werden, um das Zusammenspiel zwischen Maschinen und Flüssigkeiten oder Partikel- oder Bauteilschüttungen zu untersuchen. Eine solche Methodenkopplung kann beispielsweise verwendet werden, um Belastungen und Bewegungen zu untersuchen, wie sie beim Schwappen flüssiger Ladung in Tanklastfahrzeugen auftreten. Durch eine Analyse der Fahrdynamik des beladenen Fahrzeugs werden Rückschlüsse auf die optimale Geometrie des Tanks gezogen. So lassen sich die Sicherheitsreserven des Lastfahrzeugs auch bei kritischen Manövern optimieren.


(Klick auf Bild vergrößert)

 

 

Tankschwappen
Tankschwappen

Ein weiteres Projekt, bei dem Inpartik mit seiner Software Pasimodo® maßgeblich beteiligt war stellt für irdische Ingenieure sicherlich eine recht exotische Anwendung dar: Untersucht wurde die Eingrabanfälligkeit eines extraterrestrischen Rovers im weichen Sand des Mars. Bei diesen Untersuchungen, bei denen Pasimodo® mit einem externen MKS-Simulationsprogramm gekoppelt wird, sind einige Modellparameter unscharf definiert, da z.B. die Eigenschaften des Marsbodens typischer Weise allenfalls geschätzt werden können.


  +49 (0)7071 - 3659836


  info[at]inpartik.com


  Aixer Straße 14 • 72072 Tübingen


Überzeugen Sie sich selbst!