HOME | SITEMAP | Imprint | CONTACT    
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
  

 

HIGH PERFORMANCE COMPUTING (HPC)

 

Particle simulations make it possible to observe dynamic processes in great detail. In order to do that it is often necessary to divide the simulated medium very finely, into very many particles. There are several reasons for that which also depend on the type of simulation method used. For simulating granular media using the DEM method the process to be simulated often already contains a large number of particles.

For particle-based computational fluid dynamics, however, the quality of the results depends, as for most other simulation methods, on the degree of discretization. Thus, achieving a high-quality result also necessitates taking a large number of particles into account.

 

 

When large simulations are unavoidable for solving a specific simulation task even modern workstations reach their limits, especially if the softwares used don’t utilize the computer’s processing power optimally. To make sure that your resources are always optimally utilized Pasimodo® offers special features for increasing performance. Your simulation problems are automatically structured (parallelized) in a way that makes it possible for several processing units to work on them simultaneously. Modern workstations from generation to generation increasingly offer more processing cores available for parallel computing. Pasimodo® always ensures that, if necessary, all cores of your workstation are used for the simulation in order to fully utilize the available processing power.

 

If the processing power of a single workstation is not enough to cope with very large simulations another way for increasing performance is using Pasimodo® on HPC clusters for simulations. A special adaptive MPI-based load balancing process helps to ensure that even for highly dynamic simulations the available processing power is always optimally utilized.


Thanks to its sophisticated program architecture Pasimodo® Unleash makes it possible for users to do parallel simulations with program add-ons developed of their own, without them needing to concern themselves with the complex topic of parallelization. Program add-ons developed by a user will be available both on workstations and on HPC clusters in the same way. So, if there are several simulation platforms available, the most suitable one for a given simulation task can easily be chosen without making it necessary to adapt or port the self-developed program parts.

  +49 (0)7071 - 3659836


  info[at]inpartik.com


  Aixer Straße 14 • 72072 Tübingen


See for yourself!

HOME | SITEMAP | IMPRESSUM | KONTAKT    
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
  

HIGH PERFORMANCE COMPUTING (HPC)

 

Partikelsimulationen ermöglichen eine äußerst detaillierte Beobachtung dynamischer Vorgänge. Dazu ist es häufig nötig das simulierte Medium relativ fein, d.h. mit sehr vielen Partikeln aufzulösen. Hierfür gibt es mehrere Gründe, die u.a. von der Art der verwendeten Simulationsmethode abhängen. Bei der Simulation granularer Medien mit Hilfe der DEM-Methode, kann der zu simulierende reale Prozess bereits eine große Partikelzahl enthalten.

Bei partikelbasierten Strömungssimulationen hingegen hängt die Qualität der Ergebnisse wie bei den meisten anderen Simulationsmethoden vom Grad der Diskretisierung ab. Eine hohe Ergebnisgüte macht somit ebenfalls die Berücksichtigung einer großen Anzahl von Partikeln erforderlich.

 

 

High Performance Computing

 

Wenn große Simulationen unvermeidlich sind, um eine vorgegebene Simulationsaufgabe zu lösen, stoßen auch moderne Workstations leicht an ihre Grenzen, v.a. wenn die verwendete Software die Rechenleistung nicht optimal nutzt. Um sicherzustellen, dass Ihre Resourcen stets optimal ausgereizt werden, bietet Pasimodo® spezielle Features zur Steigerung der Performance. Ihre Simulationsprobleme werden automatisch so strukturiert (parallelisiert), dass mehrere Recheneinheiten gleichzeitig daran arbeiten können. Moderne Workstations bieten von Generation zu Generation zunehmend mehr Rechenkerne (Cores), die für paralleles Berechnen zu Verfügung stehen. Pasimodo® stellt stets sicher, dass bei Bedarf alle Kerne Ihrer Workstation für die Simulation verwendet werden, um so die verfügbare Rechenleistung voll auszuschöpfen.


Wenn die Rechenleistung einer einzelnen Workstation bei sehr großen Simulationen nicht mehr ausreicht, besteht ein weiterer Weg einer Leistungssteigerung in der Simulation mit Pasimodo® auf HPC-Clustern. Mit Hilfe eines speziellen adaptiven MPI-basierten Load-Balancing Verfahrens wird sichergestellt, dass die zu Verfügung stehende Rechenleistung auch bei hochdynamischen Simulationen stets optimal ausgenützt wird.


Dank seiner ausgefeilten Programmarchitektur erlaubt Pasimodo® Unleash die parallele Simulation mit selbst entwickelten Programmerweiterungen, ohne das der Nutzer sich mit dem komplexen Thema Parallelisierung beschäftigen muss. Die vom Nutzer entwickelten Programmerweiterungen stehen in gleicher Weise sowohl auf Workstations als auch auf HPC-Clustern zu Verfügung. So kann leicht bei mehreren zu Verfügung stehenden Simulationsplattformen die geeignetste für eine bestehende Simulationsaufgabe ausgewählt werden, ohne dass Anpassungen oder Portierungen der selbst entwickelten Programmteile nötig werden.


  +49 (0)7071 - 3659836


  info[at]inpartik.com


  Aixer Straße 14 • 72072 Tübingen


Überzeugen Sie sich selbst!