HOME | SITEMAP | Imprint | CONTACT    
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
  

 

DISCRETE ELEMENT METHOD (DEM)

 

DEM makes it possible to compute the moving behavior of a very large number of objects. These are called discrete elements or particles. Its uses range from modelling the ground conditions on other planets, to simulating processes of conveying granular media, to simulating production processes like frictionally grinding metal components, to just name a few of the many applications.

 

JDepending on each individual case, the particles may represent gravel pieces, plastic particles, metal parts or many other things. The shapes of the particles vary depending on the application, from simple geometric bodies like spheres or ellipsoids to geometries of real components which can be directly imported from a CAD program.

 

(Click images to enlarge)

 

 

particle conveying process
particle conveying process
simulation of filling a container
simulation of filling a container
filling simulation - zoom
filling simulation - zoom

In discrete element simulations an immense number of contacts between the simulated particles have to be detected and and computed. This requires especially sophisticated algorithms to efficiently utilize the available processing power. For dealing with this problem most commercially available particle simulation programs support only an approximation of the real shapes of parts by spheres or other primitive geometric bodies. Even though this reduces computing time, it has a negative effect on the quality and value of the computed results.


The software Pasimodo®, in contrast, is capable of reproducing even large numbers of particles in shapes true to the originals by using its sophisticated contact algorithms. By importing CAD geometries it is easy to connect to typical work routines in design, research and development. Pasimodo® allows for DEM simulations with realistic geometry descriptions of particle quantities relevant to industry, done on commercially available workstations.

  +49 (0)7071 - 3659836


  info[at]inpartik.com


  Aixer Straße 14 • 72072 Tübingen


See for yourself!

HOME | SITEMAP | IMPRESSUM | KONTAKT    
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
  

DISKRETE ELEMENTE METHODE (DEM)

 

Die DEM ermöglicht eine computergestützte Berechnung des Bewegungsverhaltens einer sehr großen Anzahl von Objekten. Diese werden als Diskrete Elemente oder Partikel bezeichnet. Ihr Einsatzspektrum reicht von der Modellierung der Bodenverhältnisse fremder Himmelskörper über die Simulation von Förderprozessen granularer Medien bis zur Simulation von Produktionsvorgängen wie z.B. der Gleitschleifbearbeitung metallischer Bauteile, um nur ein paar der vielen Anwendungsbereiche zu nennen.

 

Je nach Einsatzfall repräsentieren die Partikel Schottersteine, Kunststoffpartikel, Metallteile oder vieles mehr. Die Form der Partikel variiert je nach Anwendung von einfachen geometrischen Körpern wie Kugeln oder Ellipsoiden bis hin zu realen Bauteilgeometrien, die direkt aus einem CAD-Programm importiert werden können.
(Klick auf die Fotos vergrößert)

 

 

Partikeltransportvorgang
Partikeltransportvorgang
Befüllsimulation eines Containers
Befüllsimulation eines Containers
Befüllsimulation - Zoom
Befüllsimulation - Zoom

In Diskrete Elemente Simulationen muss eine immense Anzahl von Kontakten zwischen den simulierten Partikeln erkannt und berechnet werden. Dies erfordert besonders ausgefeilte Algorithmen um die bereitgestellte Rechenleistung effizient zu nutzen. Um das beschriebene Problem in den Griff zu bekommen, unterstützen die meisten Partikelsimulationsprogramme auf dem Markt nur eine Annäherung realer Teileformen durch Kugeln oder andere geometrisch primitive Körper. Wenngleich dies eine Reduktion der Rechenzeit ermöglicht, hat dieses Vorgehen leider einen negativen Einfluss auf die Güte und die Aussagekraft der berechneten Ergebnisse.


Im Gegensatz dazu ist die Software Pasimodo® durch ihre ausgefeilten Kontaktalgorithmen in der Lage auch große Zahlen von Partikeln in ihrer Form originalgetreu abzubilden. Durch den Import von CAD-Geometrien ist eine leichte Anbindung an die typischen Arbeitsabläufe in Konstruktion, Forschung und Entwicklung möglich. Pasimodo® ermöglicht DEM-Simulationen mit realistischer Geometriebeschreibung industrierelevanter Partikelmengen auf handelsüblichen Workstations.


  +49 (0)7071 - 3659836


  info[at]inpartik.com


  Aixer Straße 14 • 72072 Tübingen


Überzeugen Sie sich selbst!