HOME | SITEMAP | Imprint | CONTACT    
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
  

AEROSPACE ENGINEERING

Source: JPL/NASA
Source: JPL/NASA
Source: JPL/NASA

Secrets under the surface – Pasimodo® simulates Mars mission


Scientists of DLR’s Institute of System Dynamics and Control have used Inpartik’s software Pasimodo® to computer-simulate the hammering process of HP3-Mole, as part of the preparation of NASA Mars mission InSight. The simulation used a novel ground model implemented in Pasimodo®. This made it possible to optimize the hammering mechanism so that now less than 2.5 Watt are necessary for the hammering process – which is an incredibly low power consumption considering the depth of the hole created by the hammering process.


We are running out of space on earth. The population is continually growing and living space and the necessary resources might become scarce sooner or later. Luckily, not far away from earth, measured in astronomers’ units, there is a planet which might one day serve as living space. We are talking about Mars.

At first glance the red planet appears to be completely unsuitable for human settlement. Due to its distance from the sun, which is much larger than the distance between Earth and sun, it has average temperatures of -55°C (-67°F), much colder than on earth. Even while wearing polar gear, staying outside on Mars is not advisable, because its composition makes Mars’ atmosphere unsuitable for humans and the strong UV radiation makes even ozone holes on Earth appear harmless in comparison. Moreover, with only about one third of Earth’s surfacei) Mars is a lot smaller in comparison and has therefore also lower gravity.

Despite all adversities, however, the conditions described are the most compatible ones that can be found on any astronomic object far and wide. Because space is one thing above others: it’s empty. As one can see when looking up at the night sky, there are lots of stars, possibly even with planets similar to Earth, but they are distances away that are almost unconquereable for humans. Even compared to its other neighboring planets in Earth’s solar system Mars has significantly better conditions.

However, before settlement or only manned exploration of Mars can be considered a lot of open questions need to be answered. Is there, e.g., liquid water on our red neighbor? In addition to answering such popular questions exploring Mars also serves to gain information which can help us to better understand the geology of our own planet. Since the 1960s, when the Mariner probes transmitted the first photos of the red planet to Earth, technology has improved greatly. By now exploration vehicles have been put down on Mars’ surface and two of these rovers, Opportunity1 and Curiosity2, are still providing regular pictures and data from their exporative excursions.

New discoveries often create new questions. Therefore the next Mars mission of NASA in cooperation with JPS/Caltech is about to start. In the near future, mission InSight (Interior Exploration using Seismic Investigations, Geodesy and Heat Transport)3,4 will leave Earth for Mars. For this mission, unlike for previous mobile exploration missions, the focus is on exploring the geological properties of Mars. The examination of the division into core, mantle and crust and the exact measurement of heat emitted from the surface are hoped to provide new insights into the formation of the planet.

 

 

 

The German Aerospace Center (DLR) is providing the Heat Flow and Physical Properties Package (HP3)5, one of the two main instruments of the InSight mission. It is a specially developed temperature probe (HP3-Mole) which can hammer itself five meters deep into Mars ground – a larger depth than ever achieved before on any astronomic object. It takes temperature readings in different depths. In order for the probe to get to this comparatively large depth a special construction is necessary. This construction makes it possible to hammer the measuring head, which is several centimeters thick, into the ground by using a limited amount of power which comes solely from solar engergy. Anyone who has ever compared the various hammer drills available for sale knows that, based on their construction, their efficiency can vary significantly. The scientists of DLR’s Institute of System Dynamics and Control have therefore optimized HP3-Mole with regard to its shape and dynamic adjustment, so that its driving process is as safe and energy efficient as possible.

 

 

Source: DLR-SR
Source: DLR-SR
Source: DLR-SR
Source: DLR-SR
Source: DLR-SR
 

 

Scientists of DLR’s Institute of System Dynamics and Control have used Inpartik’s software Pasimodo® to computer-simulate the hammering process of HP3-Mole. The simulation used a novel ground model implemented in Pasimodo®. This made it possible to optimize the hammering mechanism so that now less than 2.5 Watt are necessary for the hammering process – which is an incredibly low power consumption considering the depth of the hole created by the hammering process. At the same time the optimization also reduced the number of hits necessary.

 

Inpartik wishes the InSight mission and especially the HP3 package a good start and a successful mission!

 

 

To NASA’s project pages: http://insight.jpl.nasa.gov

To DLR’s project pages: http://www.dlr.de/rmc/sr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8178/


i)The comparatively smaller surface area is balanced by the fact that only a very small part of those 30% of Earth’s surface that are not covered by water can be considered inhabitable. Mars, on the other hand, has, as one knows, no oceans and therefore doesn’t do too bad in a comparison of this aspect.

1) NASA/JPL: MER Rover Homepage (Opportunity); http://mars.nasa.gov/mer

2) NASA/JPL: MSL Rover Homepage (Curiosity); http://mars.nasa.gov/msl/

3) W.B. Barnerdt et al.: INSIGHT: A discovery mission to explore the interior of Mars, in 44th Lunar and Planetary Science Conference, Texas, USA, 2013

4) NASA/JPL: NASA InSight Homepage, http://insight.jpl.nasa.gov

5) T. Spohn et al.: Measuring the Martian Heat Flow using the Heat Flow and Physical Properties Package (HP3); in 45th Lunar and Planetary Science Conference, 2014

6) R. Lichtenheldt; B. Schäfer; O. Krömer: Hammering beneath the surface of Mars - modeling and simulation of the impact-driven locomotion of the HP 3 -Mole by coupling enhanced multi-body dynamics and discrete element method, In Prodeedings: Shaping the future by engineering : 58th IWK, Ilmenau Scientific Colloquium, Technische Universität Ilmenau, 8 - 12 September 2014

  +49 (0)7071 - 3659836


  info[at]inpartik.com


  Aixer Straße 14 • 72072 Tübingen


See for yourself!

HOME | SITEMAP | IMPRESSUM | KONTAKT    
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
Inpartik - the art of simulating matters
Sprachenauswahl de/en  DE _ EN  
  

LUFT- UND RAUMFAHRTTECHNIK

Quelle: JPL/NASA
Quelle: JPL/NASA
Quelle: JPL/NASA

Geheimnisse unter der Oberfläche – Pasimodo® simuliert Marsmission


Mit Hilfe von Inpartiks Software Pasimodo® wurde von den Forschern des DLR-Instituts für Systemdynamik und Regelungstechnik im Rahmen der Vorbereitung der NASA-Marsmission InSight das Einschlagen des HP3-Mole im Computer simuliert. Hierbei kam ein neuartiges, in Pasimodo® implementiertes Bodenmodell zum Einsatz. So konnte der Schlagmechanismus in einer Weise optimiert werden, dass der Einschlagvorgang mit insgesamt weniger als 2,5 Watt betrieben werden kann – eine angesichts der enormen Einschlagtiefe sensationell geringe Leistungsaufnahme.


Es wird eng auf der Erde. Die Bevölkerung wächst stetig und der Platz zum Leben und die nötigen Ressourcen könnten auf kurz oder lang knapp werden. Zum Glück findet sich nach astronomischen Maßstäben in direkter Nachbarschaft zur Erde ein Planet, der uns vielleicht eines Tages als Lebensraum dienen könnte. Die Rede ist vom Mars.

Auf den ersten Blick erscheint der rote Planet völlig ungeeignet für eine menschliche Besiedelung. Aufgrund seines im Vergleich zur Erde größeren Sonnenabstands ist es dort mit durchschnittlich -55°C deutlich kälter als auf der Erde. Auch mit guter Winterkleidung kann nur davon abgeraten werden, sich im Freien aufzuhalten, denn die Atmosphäre des Mars ist aufgrund ihrer Zusammensetzung für Menschen unverträglich und die starke UV-Strahlung lässt selbst das irdische Ozonloch alt aussehen. Mit nur etwa einem Drittel der Oberflächei) ist der Mars darüber hinaus im Vergleich deutlich kleiner als die Erde und hat deshalb auch eine geringere Schwerkraft.

Trotz aller Widrigkeiten handelt es sich bei den beschriebenen Bedingungen aber um die verträglichsten, die sich im weiten Umkreis auf einem Himmelskörper finden lassen. Denn das All ist v.a. eines: leer. Wie der Blick zum Nachthimmel belegt, gibt es zwar reichlich Sterne, möglicherweise auch mit erdähnlichen Planeten, diese sind aber nach menschlichen Maßstäben nahezu unerreichbar weit von uns entfernt. Auch im Vergleich zu seinen anderen Nachbarplaneten im irdischen Sonnensystem schneidet der Mars deutlich besser ab.

Bevor allerdings jemals eine Besiedelung oder auch nur eine bemannte Erforschung des Mars in Erwägung gezogen werden kann, müssen noch viele offene Fragen geklärt werden. Gibt es z.B. flüssiges Wasser auf unserem roten Nachbarn? Neben der Klärung solch populärer Fragen dient die Erforschung des Mars der Gewinnung von Informationen die uns helfen können, die Geologie unseres eigenen Planeten besser zu verstehen. Seit die Mariner-Sonden der 1960er Jahre die erste Fotos des roten Planeten zur Erde funkten, hat sich technologisch eine Menge getan. Mittlerweile wurden Erkundungsfahrzeuge auf der Planetenoberfläche abgesetzt und zwei dieser Rover, Opportunity1 und Curiosity2, liefern nach wie vor regelmäßig Bilder und Daten von ihren Erkundungsfahrten.

Neue Entdeckungen werfen aber auch meist neue Fragen auf. Deshalb steht bereits die nächste Marsmission der NASA in Kooperation mit JPS/Caltech in den Startlöchern. Demnächst wird die Mission InSight (Interior Exploration using Seismic Investigations, Geodesy and Heat Transport)3,4 zum Mars aufbrechen. Bei dieser Mission steht im Gegensatz zu den vorangegangenen mobilen Erkundungsmissionen besonders die Erforschung der geologischen Eigenschaften des Mars im Vordergrund. Die Untersuchung der Aufteilung in Kern, Mantel und Kruste sowie die genaue Bestimmung der Oberflächenwärmeabgabe sollen neue Erkenntnisse über die Entstehung des Planeten liefern.

Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft-und Raumfahrt (DLR) stellt das Heat Flow and Physical Properties Package (HP3)5, eines der beiden Hauptinstrumente der InSight Mission bereit. Hierbei handelt es sich um eine speziell entwickelte Wärmesonde (HP3-Mole). Diese hämmert sich selbständig fünf Meter tief in den Marsboden -eine größere Tiefe wurde niemals zuvor auf einem fremden Himmelskörper erreicht. Dabei werden in verschiedenen Tiefen Temperaturmessungen durchgeführt. Damit die Sonde diese verhältnismäßig große Tiefe erreichen kann, ist eine spezielle Konstruktion nötig. Sie erlaubt es, den Zentimeter dicken Messfühler mit äußerst begrenzter rein aus Solarenergie gewonnener Leistung in den Boden zu treiben. Wer einmal verschiedene handelsübliche Bohrhämmer verglichen hat, weiß, dass es konstruktionsbedingt große Unterschiede in der Effizienz solcher Hammermechanismen geben kann. Der HP3-Mole wurde deshalb von Forschern des DRL-Instituts für Systemdynamik und Regelungstechnik bzgl. seiner Form und dynamischen Abstimmung so optimiert, dass ein möglichst sicherer und energieeffizienter Vortrieb möglich ist.

Quelle: DLR-SR
Quelle: DLR-SR
Quelle: DLR-SR
Quelle: DLR-SR
Quelle: DLR-SR
 

Mit Hilfe von Inpartiks Software Pasimodo® wurde von den Forschern des DLR-Instituts für Systemdynamik und Regelungstechnik das Einschlagen des HP3-Mole im Computer simuliert. Hierbei kam ein neuartiges, in Pasimodo® implementiertes Bodenmodell zum Einsatz. So konnte der Schlagmechanismus in einer Weise optimiert werden, dass der Einschlagvorgang mit insgesamt weniger als 2,5 Watt betrieben werden kann – eine angesichts der enormen Einschlagtiefe sensationell geringe Leistungsaufnahme. Gleichzeitig konnte mit Hilfe der Optimierung die Anzahl der benötigten Schläge gesenkt werden.

 

Inpartik wünscht der InSight-Mission und besonders dem HP3-Package einen guten Start und einen erfolgreichen Missionsverlauf!

 

Zu den NASA-Projektseiten: http://insight.jpl.nasa.gov

Zu den DLR-Projektseiten: http://www.dlr.de/rmc/sr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8178/


i) Die im Vergleich kleinere Oberfläche wird allerdings dadurch ausgeglichen, dass nur ein Bruchteil der 30% der Erdoberfläche, die nicht von Wasser bedeckt sind, als bewohnbar angesehen werden können. Der Mars hingegen hat bekannter Maßen keine Ozeane und steht zumindest unter diesem Gesichtspunkt gar nicht so schlecht da.

1) NASA/JPL: MER Rover Homepage (Opportunity); http://mars.nasa.gov/mer

2) NASA/JPL: MSL Rover Homepage (Curiosity); http://mars.nasa.gov/msl/

3) W.B. Barnerdt et al.: INSIGHT: A discovery mission to explore the interior of Mars, in 44th Lunar and Planetary Science Conference, Texas, USA, 2013

4) NASA/JPL: NASA InSight Homepage, http://insight.jpl.nasa.gov

5) T. Spohn et al.: Measuring the Martian Heat Flow using the Heat Flow and Physical Properties Package (HP3); in 45th Lunar and Planetary Science Conference, 2014

6) R. Lichtenheldt; B. Schäfer; O. Krömer: Hammering beneath the surface of Mars - modeling and simulation of the impact-driven locomotion of the HP 3 -Mole by coupling enhanced multi-body dynamics and discrete element method, In Prodeedings: Shaping the future by engineering : 58th IWK, Ilmenau Scientific Colloquium, Technische Universität Ilmenau, 8 - 12 September 2014


  +49 (0)7071 - 3659836


  info[at]inpartik.com


  Aixer Straße 14 • 72072 Tübingen


Überzeugen Sie sich selbst!